Watch out for a bogus investment offer making the email rounds, purporting to come from the Li Ka-shing Foundation and targeting entrepreneurs looking for funding. Some of the emails supposedly come from Li Ka-shing himself. (Ka-shing is one of the wealthiest men in Asia, often referred to as the "Asian Bill Gates.")
I had a look at the website associated with the offer, http://www.robfordhamventures.com. Apart from other red flags, it includes text apparently taken from a (legitimate) website belonging to International Development Business Consultants (IDBC).For example, check the text at http://www.robfordhamventures.com/staffleadershipprofiles.html. Look at the second and third paragraphs.
Then check the second and third paragraphs at http://www.idbc.com/staff/index.htm.
The paragraphs are virtually identical.
Also, much of the "Clients and Projects" text at http://www.robfordhamventures.com/clients_projects.html mirrors IDBC's content.
Just FYI, "Roland Foster Ventures" has a site almost identical to "Robert Fordham Ventures," at http://www.rfventure.com/. Text that mirrors IDBC's text is featured here, too.
Among other red flags in the "Li Ka-shing" offer:
-- Like many foundations, the Li Ka-shing Foundation focuses on philanthropic projects, and its site specifically excludes investments for individuals and "purely commercial ventures." (For details, see the Foundation's "Funding Principles," at http://www.lksf.org/common/pdf/apply_eng.pdf.)
-- The emails that ostensibly come from Li Ka-shing and his organization often use Gmail and Hotmail addresses. If he sends much email at all, Mr. Ka-shing probably uses a proprietary email address. (Sure, wealthy people use Gmail, but here it's definitely not a positive sign.)-- Email IP addresses have been linked to Nigeria and El Salvador
~ Mike Haaren, Co-Host, RatRaceRebellion.com
Recent Comments